View Rankings  (New)
Izaac Quek repeated...
 
Notifications
Clear all

Izaac Quek repeatedly called out umpire for John Russel Misal's 'illegal serve'

4 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
45 Views
(@adriano)
Active Member
Joined: 5 months ago
Posts: 7
Topic starter  

What do you think?

 

 


   
Quote
pingpongaddict
(@pingpongaddict)
Trusted Member
Joined: 6 months ago
Posts: 44
 

Misal's serve is definitely illegal. Check on 3:42. He's throwing the ball way inside his body. 

 

On rules on service in 2024 ITTF handbook 

 

"From the start of service until it is struck, the ball shall be above the level of the playing surface and behind the server's end line, and it shall not be hidden from the receiver by the server or his or her doubles partner or by anything they wear or carry."

 

But truth be told, a lot of international players do that and referees don't call it.

 

Book-wise, that should be illegal.


   
ReplyQuote
mikosan
(@mikosan)
Trusted Member
Joined: 6 months ago
Posts: 34
 

@pingpongaddict

 

Right. Misal is a rising star on the international scene and for sure he got people's attention in the Olympic qualifier. 

He needs to work on that serve. Otherwise, it may work against him in bigger tournaments. 

 


   
ReplyQuote
vanreyes
(@vanreyes)
Eminent Member
Joined: 5 months ago
Posts: 28
 

I agree to most what have been said here.

 

However, the umpire is the highest authority during a play. If the official umpire does not call a seemingly 'illegal serve' then its not illegal. The opposing player can complain whenever he wants. It is his right.

 

For the most part of qualification, Misal's serves were not called a foul then its not a foul. If that makes sense.


   
ReplyQuote
Share:
Scroll to Top